The 1st ZKProof Standards Workshop 2018

Boston Marriott Cambridge, MA
May 10-11th 2018

The workshop, which concluded on May 12th, was a success, bringing together more than 70 people from academia and the industry.

Workshop participants

The 1st ZKProof Standards Workshop will take place at the Boston Marriott Cambridge hotel. The goal of the workshop is to begin the process of Zero Knowledge Proof standardization. The workshop, which is a registration-only event, will take place over the course of two days, where invited participants will discuss relevant aspects and create initial documents for the effort. The chairs of the three tracks are the following:

  • Track 1 (Security): Jens Groth (UCL), Yael Kalai (Microsoft Research), Muthu Venkitasubramaniam (University of Rochester)
  • Track 2 (Implementations): Sean Bowe (Zcash), Kobi Gurkan (QED-it), Eran Tromer (TAU, Columbia University)
  • Track 3 (Applications): Daniel Benarroch (QED-it), Ran Canetti (BU, TAU), Andrew Miller (University of Illinois)

Important Dates

Registration closes: April 15, 2018

Hotel registration deadline: April 18, 2018

The workshop: May 10-11, 2018

The Venue

50 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 02142, USA


Funding requests are now closed. We are able to cover part of the accomodation and travel expenses for participants that require financial support. Requests for support should be sent to

Accomodation & Travel

We have reserved several rooms at a discounted rate for the workshop participants. The discounted registration link will be sent with the invitations. Please note that reservations must be made before April 18, 2018, and will be allocated on a first come basis.

The most convenient airport is Boston Logan (BOS) and the most convenient train station is Boston South Station.

Workshop Schedule

Day Estimated Time Session 1 Sessions 2 Session 3 Speaker Room
Thursday 10th 8:00 AM Registration & Light Breakfast
Moderator 9:00 AM Welcome & Introduction to the ZKProof effort Shafi Goldwasser Main
9:20 AM Keynote Ran Canetti
10:00 AM Track Chair presentations
Each chair presents the scope of the track, tentative outline for the writeup, major open questions/difficulties, tentative dependencies on other tracks.
Track Chairs
10:45 AM Coffee Break
11:00 AM Breakout 1:
- Finalize scope and document structure
- Define and assign task groups for fleshing out the document
- Detailed content request from other tracks (e.g., concepts expected to be defined)
Security Implementations Applications
1:00 PM Lunch
2:15 PM Breakout 2:
- Adhoc sub-groups
- Detailed content discussions
- Bullet points on content by sections and bibliography
- Further content request from other tracks
Security Implementations Applications
4:30 PM Coffee Break
4:45 PM Breakout 3:
- Start writing document by ad-hoc groups
- Chairs can share with other tracks the content request
- Align on language and notation
Security Implementations Applications
6:00 PM End of Day 1
7:00 PM ZKPROOF RECEPTION: snacks and drinks Main
Friday 11th 8:00 AM Coffee & Light Breakfast
Moderator 9:00 AM Keynote Shafi Goldwasser Main
9:45 AM Zero Knowledge Proofs in the industry Companies' pitches
11:00 AM Coffee Break
11:15 AM Sync & Overview
Chairs will present the current state of the document / contentDetail what dependencies have been finalized and update on changes from the expected scopeDiscuss what has been left out of the documents and why
Track Chairs Main
11:45 AM Breakout 4:
- Write document in task groups
Security Implementations Applications
1:00 PM Lunch
2:15 PM Breakout 5:
- Finish documents
- Decide who will be responsible to deliver the document to the SC (finish, edits, formatting)
Security Implementations Applications
4:30 PM Coffee Break
4:50 PM Wrap up and Conclusions
Presentation of results, retrospective, what's next in the standardization effort
Track Chairs Main
5:50 PM Closing remarks Aviv Zohar
6:00 PM End of Workshop


Shashank Agrawal Visa Research Yael Kalai Microsoft Research
David Archer Galois, Inc. Shaul Kfir Digital Asset
Tony Arcieri iqlusion Hugo Krawczyk IBM Research
Daniel Benarroch QED-it Jonathan Levi Hacera
Vipin Bharathan BNPP Anna Lysyanskaya Brown University
Nir Bitansky Tel Aviv University Zaki Manian The Interchain Foundation
Sean Bowe Zcash Company Andrew Miller University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
John Brainard Consensys Eduardo Morais ING Bank
Benedikt Bünz Stanford University Neha Narula MIT Media Lab
Ran Canetti Boston University Binh Nguyen Hyperledger Project
Konstantinos Chalkias R3 Rafail Ostrovsky Stealth Software Technologies, Inc.
Josh Cincinnati Zcash Foundation Gavin Pacini Deloitte
Henry Corrigan-Gibbs Stanford University Omer Paneth MIT
Joshua Daniel British Telecom Andrew Poelstra Blockstream
Anuj Das Gupta Stratumn SAS Tal Rabin IBM Research
Angelo De Caro IBM Research, Zurich Mariana Raykova Yale University
Michael Dixon Charles Stark Draper Laboratory Kurt Rohloff Rohloff NJIT
Maria Dubovitskaya IBM Research, Zurich Ron Rothblum MIT and NEU
Brett Falk University of Pennsylvania Jonathan Rouach QED-it
Ali Farahanchi MIT Alum Alessandra Scafuro NCSU
Georg Fuchsbauer Inria and ENS abhi shelat Northeastern
Daniel Genkin UPenn and U. of Maryland Kartheek Solipuram EY
Nathan George Sovrin Foundation Alin Tomescu VMware Research & MIT
Steven Goldfeder Princeton University Eran Tromer Tel Aviv University, Columbia University
Jamie Goldstein Pillar VC Mayank Varia Boston University
Shafi Goldwasser MIT, Berkeley, Weizmann Institute Muthu Venkitasubramaniam University of Rochester
Jack Grigg Zcash Madars Virza MIT Media Lab
Jens Groth University College London Douglas Wikström KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Kobi Gurkan QED-it Pieter Wuille Blockstream
Daira Hopwood Security and language researcher Yupeng Zhang University of Maryland
Yuval Ishai Technion Aviv Zohar The Hebrew University & QED-it
Charanjit Jutla IBM Research

We appreciate the support of our sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsors